Newport House was built in 1720 and overlooks the Newport River which is one of Mayo's most famous salmon fishing rivers.
This historic Georgian house boasts an elegant dining room, high ceilings, a drawing-room, and a sitting room that overlooks the garden and river.
The house has an interesting history and for over 200 years was home to a branch of the O'Donel family, who were cousins of the famous 'Red Hugh'. They were transplanted here from Ulster by Oliver Cromwell.
In 1945, Newport House was acquired by Mr. Henry Mumford Smith who was a regular visitor to Newport through his love for fishing. Mr. Mumford Smith also held the fishing rights on the river in front of the house. He converted the premises into a first-class hotel and a haven for anglers and a place of relaxation for all to enjoy. At the time, the local newspaper, The Connaught Telegraph reported:
‘Melcomb House: in former times the Dower house of the O ‘Donnells; whose former seat, Newport House separated from it by the river has been converted into a palatial Hotel by Mr. Henry Mumford Smith who is also Proprietor of the salmon river. As successor of the O ‘Donnells the Courts have declared him Proprietor of the Quay, which accommodates ocean-going ships.’
He died in 1954.
The house was purchased by Kieran and Thelma Thompson in 1985 and now is one of the finest accommodations and places to eat in Ireland. Nestled in the town centre of Newport on the Wild Atlantic Way, it is only ten minutes to Westport and Castlebar and just a half-hour to Achill Island. The charm of Newport adds to the experience when visiting and is only a stone's throw from a beautiful Romanesque church, housing the last stained glass window designed by Harry Clarke. Newport is also the ancestral home of Princess Grace of Monaco.
More information on Newport House can be found on their website here: http://www.newporthouse.ie/index.html