ESKER, a parish, in the barony of NEWCASTLE, county of DUBLIN, and province of LEINSTER, .75 of a mile (E.) from Lucan town ; containing 1075 inhabitants. This place constitutes one of the four manors in the county which formerly belonged to the Crown. By an inquisition taken in the 15th of Henry VII. (1499), John Brownunsinge was found seized in, fee of eight messuages, eight gardens, and 35 acres of land in Esker and Ballyowen, held of the Crown at an annual rent, which he bequeathed to the church of Esker, "in pure and perpetual alms." There are quarries of good building stone m the parish.
The gentlemen's seats are
- Edger Lodge, the residence of Major Wills ;
- Esker, of J. Cash, Esq. ;
- St. Helen, of W. Gorman, Esq. ;
- Esker Cottage, of C Spring, Esq. ;
- Esker House, of G. Clarke, Esq. ;
- Ballyowen Lodge, of J. Cathrew, Esq. ;
- Finstown Lodge, of S. Bell, Esq. ; and
- the Glebehouse, of the Rev. W. Stewart.
The parish is in the diocese of Dublin: the rectory forms part of the union and corps of the deanery of St. Patrick's, and the vicarage part of the union of Leixlip, under which head the tithes are stated.
In the Roman Catholic divisions it is part of the union or district of Palmerstown, Clondalkin, and Lucan.
About ten boys are educated in a private classical school.
The ruined church forms a conspicuous and picturesque object, appearing, from its extensive remains, to have been originally a large structure. In the vicinity are the ruins of the ancient castellated mansion of Ballyowen.