Irish Republic withdraws from the Commonwealth

18th April 1949
Share This:

On the 18th of April 1949, the Ireland Act came into full effect. 

This Act removed the 26 counties of Ireland from the Commonwealth. 

Although the Irish Free State had been in existence since 1922, the Republic was not officially declared until all ties with Britain were cut. 

The British government recognised the withdrawal, but retained sovereignty over the 6 counties of Northern Ireland.