Oath of Allegiance Removed from Constitution

3rd May 1933
Share This:

On the 3rd of May, 1933, the Dáil passed an Act which removed the Oath of Allegiance from the Irish Constitution. 

The Oath had been put in place as part of the 1921 Anglo-Irish Treaty and required all members of the Dáil and the Seanad to swear fealty to the British monarch before taking their seats. 

The Oath was deeply contested from the very beginning, and it was with great relief that the members of the Dáil abolished it in 1933.