1st January 1801
Share This:

The 1801 Act of Union declared

  • Ireland was to be joined with Great Britain as a single kingdom: the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.
  • the Dublin parliament abolished, Ireland to be represented at Westminster by 100 MPs, 4 Lords Spiritual and 28 Lords Temporal (all Anglican).
  • the Anglican Church to be recognised as the official Church of Ireland.
  • free trade between Ireland and Britain.
  • Ireland would keep a separate Exchequer and take responsiblity for two-seventeenths of the general expense of the United Kingdom.
  • Ireland would retain its own Courts of Justice and civil service.
  • no Catholics to be allowed hold public office.
  • no plans for Catholic Emancipation.