Share This:

(photo: Couraguneen Old Roman Catholic Church,


Located in County Tipperary, the Parish of Bournea is an is an active member of the national diaspora programme Ireland Reaching Out.  Whether you are tracing your family tree or looking to connect with Irish people abroad, we are delighted to welcome you to our community. 

Welcome to the parish of Bournea, Bourney in its alternative spelling (civil parish) or Bourchin.  

The parish is situated in North east Tipperary, midway between Roscrea and Templemore. It is in the barony of Ikerrin and diocese of Killaloe.   It comprises of two villages Clonakenny and Couraguneen, with the N62 separating them.

Bournea comes from the Irish "Boirne" meaning rocky places. It comprises 9700 acres; up to 1846 it was one of the biggest parishes in the country, as Corbally was united to it. Corbally was detached in 1846, to join Roscrea and a new parish, Kyle and Knock, was also formed. (This is important to know when researching ancestry in the area).

The Devils Bit mountain overlooks Clonakenny, and uniquely two of the three sister rivers, the Suir and Nore Rivers rise here in the townland of Borrisnoe. The area is popular with anglers.

Bournea parish has three Churches- St.Patrick, Couraguneen, (1812; replaced 1983), St.Brigid’s, Clonakenny, (1898), and St. Burchin's Church of Ireland,(1780, rebuilt after fire 1945).

The parish is associated with the O’Meachair (Meagher/Maher) clan, whose main seat was at Clonakenny castle, now in ruins. It also possesses two other O’Meachair castles in ruins Boulabane and Bawnadrum.

Under the population acts of 1881  The Parish of Bourney had a population of 4’061  The Barony of Ikerrin had a total population of 27’077. 

Two of the three sister rivers, the Suir and Nore Rivers rise here in the Devils Bit Mountain.

Local Ireland Reaching Out Team


Our local Reaching Out Team was set up as a result of some of our members undertaking a Heritage course in Nenagh run by North Tipperary Leader Partnership called “Tracing My People My Place My Heritage”.  This course commenced in March 2013, it was a Genealogy & Heritage Arts training initiative run in conjunction with and for Ireland Reaching Out.

Tim Lee - Chairperson and parish admin

Liam Doran – Secretary and PRO

Aidan Lee - Treasurer 

Michael Costigan - Vice Chairman

A brief look at the the History of the Parish

Clonakenny Castle was Chief Seat of the O'Meachairs of Ikerrin. They also had in their possession two other Castles in the parish Bawnadrum and Boulabane.

To read more on The O’Meachairs of Ikerrin visit the website: 
The O'Meachairs and the Barony of Ikerrin

To read all about the history of our Parish please go to our history page


Townlands in Bourney East   
Ballynough, Ballykelly, Bawnmadrum, Behaghglass, Boolabaun, Boolareagh, Cappalahan, Cullahill, Gortderrybeg, Gortnaskehy, Loran. Shanballynahagh

Townlands in Bourney West 
Ballyhenry, Ballymoheen, Ballynamoe, Bonagortbaun, Boola, Clonakenny, Coolgarran, Corriga, Dangansallagh, Derrylahan, Gorteen, Gortnacally, Gortnadumagh, Honeymount, Kilmacuddy, Knockaunavogga, Kyleannagh, Lisduff, Longford Wood, Longford, Moatquarter, Montore, Mountfrisco, Newtown, Oldcastle, Orkneys, Shanacloon, Summerhill and Borrisnoe.



Address Bournea, Co. Tipperary
Parish(es) Bournea (Tipperary)
Category (ies) Heritage/Culture Tourist Attraction