Share This:

Set in an area rich in historical and archaeological heritage, the parish of Castlemore is in County Roscommon. We are an active member of the national diaspora programme Ireland Reaching Out. Whether you are tracing your family tree or looking to connect with Irish people abroad, we are delighted to welcome you to our community.

The market town of Ballaghaderreen is within Castlemore parish. Ballaghaderreen and Castlemore parish were once part of Co. Mayo but were transferred to Co. Roscommon in 1898.

The Cathedral of the Annunciation and St. Nathys is the Cathedral for the Diocese of Achonry which is mainly in counties Mayo and Sligo. Ballaghaderreen is also home to St. Nathys College, a voluntary secondary school.



The parish townlands are as follows: Aghalustia, Ardkill, Ballymaging or Castlemore, Barnaboy, Boghtaduff, Bohalas, Cappagh, Cashelard, Cashelcolaun, Cloonavullaun, Crunaun, Doogary, Drumnalassan, Friarhill, Glebe, Ishlaun, Kilkeeran, Killadangan, Kilvanloon, Knocknanaconny, Lissian,  Lung, Pollboy, Roosky  and Toomanagh.



Address Castlemore, Co. Roscommon
Parish(es) Castlemore (Roscommon)
Category (ies) Heritage/Culture