Civil Parishes of DUBLIN CITY

Share This:

The civil parishes of Dubin City reflect the Christian parishes that existed prior to the Reformation in both names and boundaries. Since Norman times, each parish was served by a significant church attached to an abbey in the district until Henry VIII's dissolution of the monasteries in the 16th century. Many of these ancient churches and cathedrals (as we know them today) were rebuilt by the Anglican Church of Ireland.

For orientation purposes, it helps to familiarise oneself with these churches to understand the location of the civil parishes to which they lend their name.   In some cases, a street with a matching name exists, but this cannot be relied upon in all cases (especially when the street-name reoccurs south or north of the Liffey). Following Catholic Emancipation, some of these parishes would see RC chapels of the same name built in the vicinity, but not always where one might expect. For that reason, it is prudent to join and keep an eye on adjoining civil parishes as well. 




St Georges [Dublin 1]

Glasnevin [Dublin 11. See Glasnevin Cemetery]

DUBLIN CITY CENTRE (NORTH of the River Liffey; east to west )

St Thomas [Dublin 1: From Abbey Street via O'Connell Street to the North Strand. See the Customs House, Connolly Station, EPIC Museum, Dublin Docklands]

St Marys [Dublin 1: Capel Street; From Ormond Quay up to Bolton Street. See Mary's Abbey and Dublin Fruit Market]

St Michans [Dublin 7: From Smithfield via Church Street to Green Street. See St. Michan's on North Anne Street and the Jameson Distillery]

St Pauls  [Dublin 7: From Smithfield via Blackhall Place to Stoneybatter and Arbour Hill. See St Paul's, Arran Quay]



DUBLIN CITY CENTRE (SOUTH of the River Liffey; east to west )

St. Marks [Dublin 2 & Dublin 4 north: City Quay, D'Olier Street to Ringsend]

St. Andrews [Dublin 2: Aston's Quay, Temple Bar, Grafton Street]

St Werburgh [Dublin 2: Christchurch to Dame Street] 

St Johns [Dublin 2: Christchurch to Wood Quay & Essex Quay] 


St. Nicholas Within [Dubllin 8: Nicholas Street & Angel Alley only]


St Audoens [Dublin 8 Merchant's Quay]

St Patricks [Dublin 8 St Patrick's Cathedral Merchant's Quay]

St. Nicholas Without 

St Annes

St Brides 

St Peters

St Michaels

St Lukes [Dublin 8 South of St. Patrick's Cathedral towards Crumlin: New Row through Newmarket ]

St Catherines [Dublin 8: Thomas Street, The Coombe, Tenters, Pimlico, extending south into Dublin 6: Harold's Cross & Mount Brown]

St James [Dublin City: St James' ames' Gate to Dolphin's Barn]

St James [Co. Dublin 8 W: Portobello, Rialto, Kilmainham, Inchicore, Goldenbridge]


Other civil parishes using saints' names that are not in Dublin City:


St. Margarets [Co. Dublin: North of Finglas and Santry]


Address Dublin City Centre, Co Dublin, Ireland
Parish(es) St Nicholas Within (Dublin) St Nicholas Without (Dublin) St Annes (Dublin) St Andrews (Dublin) St Audoens (Dublin) St Brides (Dublin) St Catherines (Dublin) St Marks (Dublin) St. Johns (Dublin) St James (Dublin) St Patricks (Dublin) St Lukes (Dublin) St Marks (Dublin) St Mary (Dublin) St Michaels (Dublin) St Michans (Dublin) St Pauls (Dublin) St. Peters (Dublin) St Thomas (Dublin) St Werburgh (Dublin) St Georges (Dublin)
Category (ies) Heritage/Culture