The civil parish names of Dubin City represent the medieval Christian parishes that existed prior to the Reformation in both names and boundaries.
Since Norman times, each parish was served by a significant church attached to an abbey in the district until Henry VIII's dissolution of the monasteries in the 16th century.
Many of these ancient churches and cathedrals (as we know them today) were rebuilt by the Anglican Church of Ireland.
For orientation purposes, it helps to familiarise oneself with these churches to understand the location of the civil parishes to which they lend their name.
In some cases, a street with a matching name exists, but this cannot be relied upon in all cases (especially when the street-name reoccurs south or north of the Liffey).
Following Catholic Emancipation, some of these parishes would see RC chapels of the same name built in the vicinity, but not always where one might expect. For that reason, it is prudent to join and keep an eye on adjoining civil parishes as well. To discover which combination of civil parishes were covered by an RC parish, see Our 1837 Timeline