Share This:

Ráth Bóirne aka Rathborney aka Rathbourney is a civil parish in the valley of Ballyvaughan, in North Clare.

Its territory includes the valley of the Rathborney river (also known as Feenagh Valley) with Cappanavulla hill, on the northern boundary, as its highest point. 

In 1837, the principal residence here was parish

In 1841, just before the Great Famine, the parish had a population of 1,000 in 177 houses.

The parish townlands are:

Ballyallaban, Berneens, Burrenwee, Cahermacnaghten, Cahermacun, Cloonmartin, Cullaun, Cregavockoge, Croagh North, Croagh South, Donnyvardan, Drumbrickaun, Faunarooska, Feenagh, Garracloon, Gleninsheen, Gragan East, Gragan West, Lisgoogan, Lislarheenmore, Lismacsheedy, Lismacteige, Lissylisheen, Poulacapple and Poulnabrucky.

The Primary Valuation of land and houses took place here in 1843. At that time there were only 3 houses in the parish that had a value greater than £4:

  • The Rev. Patrick Ryder of the Glebe at Croagh North (where both the Church of Ireland and Roman Catholic chapel were located). 

  • John O'Brien of Ballyallaban House

  • Denis Freeman of Feenagh House

  • Gregans – the principal residence of Francis Martin Esq. in 1837, was not valued.

In 1845 Croagh and Cahermacun were hamlets (clachan villages) here.


Address Rathborney, Ballyvaghan, Co. Clare
Parish(es) Rathborney (Clare)
Category (ies) Heritage/Culture