Formation of the Tulla Gaelic League

13th November 1917
Share This:

Tulla Gaelic League formed as noted in the Irish Examiner 13 November 1917 Edition


Rev. Canon Halpin, PP, Tulla, Co. Clare, presided at a large meeting held in that town for the purpose of forming a branch of the Gaelic League.  The following is the committee appointed--

Patron, Very Rev. Canon Halpin;

President, Rev. J. ODonoghue, CC

Vice-President, Mr. M. Moloney;

Hon Secs., Miss McKenna and Mr. P Murphy

Treasurer, Mr. M. McKenna

Committee:  Miss O'Sullivan, Messrs. M. O'Dea, M. Reidy, T. Liddy, M. Kelly, J. Murphy, P. Hawkins, Miss Canny, Miss O'Halloran, T. Burns, J. O'Donoghue, Miss Hogan.  All the local teachers were also elected.  An t-Athair O'Donncada and Mr. Meaney, N.T., were selected delegates to the Coiste Ceanntair.