20th August 1839
Share This:

"The Boyle Union" served the poor of Roscommon North and the adjacent districts of Co. Sligo, and was responsible for the erection and management of Boyle Workhouse.

Patrick Brown, Returning Officer for Boyle Union immediately invited nominations for the Election of Guardians to be held on 19 September. "The Boyle Union" covered these 16 Electoral Divisions:

Co. Roscommon: Ardcarn, Ballinameen, Boyle, Breedoge, Croghan (Estersnow, Killukin + 1 townland from Killummod), Keadue, Rockingham, Shankill.

Co. Sligo: Ballinafad, Kilmactranny, Kilshalvy, Shancough, Toomour, Coolavin, Kilfree, Kilturra.​

Only landlords or owners of property in the above electoral disctricts could nominate, vote or be elected to Boyle Union. 

The Ex-Officio Guardians for Boyle Union :—Lord Viscount Lorton (Rockingham House), Owen Lloyd Esq, Oliver D. J. Grace Esq. (Mantua House)Morgan Crofton (Abbey View, Boyle), Thos. McDermott-Roe, Esq. Guardians after having rejected all plans for anything other than new work house, have written to the Mr. George Wilkinson, architect of the Poor Law Commissioners on the subject. [Limerick Chronicle - 4 September 1839]

Community new status